Public Safety Committee

The Public Safety Committee advises the Board of Directors on major policy-level matters related to public safety. The goals of the Committee are to improve the quality of life in the region by promoting public safety and justice through collaboration, information sharing, effective technology, and objective monitoring and assessment. The Public Safety Committee receives input from the Chiefs/Sheriff’s Management Committee. Recommendations of the Public Safety Committee are forwarded to the Board of Directors for action.  

The Public Safety Committee meetings are generally held at 1 p.m. on the third Friday of every other month for approximately two hours. 

Staff contact: Clerk of the Board,


The Public Safety Committee is composed of elected officials and public safety representatives.

Jose Rodriguez, Chair, Councilmember, City of National City 
(Alternate) Alonso Gonzalez, Deputy Mayor, City of Chula Vista 
(Representing South County) 

John Minto, Vice Chair, Mayor, City of Santee 
(Alternate) Steve Goble, Councilmember, City of El Cajon 
(Representing East County) 

Rick Robinson, Councilmember, City of Oceanside
(Alternate) Keith Blackburn, Mayor, City of Carlsbad
(Representing North County Coastal)

Raul Campillo, Councilmember, City of San Diego
(Alternate) Marni von Wilpert, Councilmember, City of San Diego 

Joel Anderson, Supervisor, County of San Diego
(Alternate) Monica Montgomery Steppe, Supervisor, County of San Diego

Caylin Frank, Deputy Mayor, City of Poway 
(Alternate) Ed Musgrove, Councilmember, City of San Marcos 
(Representing North County Inland) 

Dave McQuead, Chief, Rancho Santa Fe Fire District
(Vice President San Diego County Chiefs Association)
(Alternate) Vacant
(Regional Fire/Emergency Medical Services)

Summer Stephan, District Attorney, San Diego County 
(Alternate) Jorge Duran, Chief Investigator 
(Alternate) Donald Holmes, Deputy Chief Investigator 
(San Diego County District Attorney) 

Kelly Martinez, Sheriff, San Diego County 
(Alternate) Richard Williams, Undersheriff San Diego County 
(Alternate) Kenneth Jones, Assistant Sheriff San Diego County 
(County Sheriff) 
Kedrick Sadler, Chief, Oceanside Police Department 
(Alternate) Ray Sweeney, Chief, La Mesa Police Department 
(Seat A Representing County Chiefs’/Sheriff’s Association) 

Alex Hernandez, Chief, National City Police Department 
(Alternate) Roxana Kennedy, Chief, Chula Vista Police Department 
(Seat B Representing County Chiefs’/Sheriff’s Association) 

Scott Wahl, Chief, City of San Diego Police Department 
(Alternate) Mike Holden, Assistant Chief, City of San Diego Police Department 
(San Diego Police Department) 

Tommie Cocroft, Chief, California Highway Patrol 
(Alternate) Craig Root, Assistant Chief, California Highway Patrol 
(Alternate) Reggie Williams, Captain, California Highway Patrol 
(Representing State Public Safety) 

Shelly S. Howe, Special Agent in Charge, U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration 
(Alternate) Steven C. Stafford, United States Marshal 
(Alternate) Stacey Moy, Special Agent in Charge, Federal Bureau of Investigation 
(Representing Federal Public Safety) 

Tim Curran, Director, Transit Security and Passenger Safety, Metropolitan Transit System
(Alternate) Karen Tucholski, Chief Operations Officer – Operations Support Services, North County Transit District 
(Representing Regional Transit) 

Jeffrey Toney, Director, San Diego Office, Office of Emergency Services, County of San Diego 
(Alternate) Christopher Heiser, Executive Director, Office of Emergency Services, City of San Diego 
(Representing Homeland Security) 

Kathleen Connon, Federal Security Director/SD, Transportation Security Administration
(Alternate) Sidney Aki, Director of Field Operations, Customs and Border Protection 
(Alternate) Tara McGrath, United States Attorney, U.S. Attorney’s Office 
(Representing Federal Public Safety) 

Tamika Nelson, Chief Probation Officer 
(Alternate) Denise Huffhines, Assistant Chief Probation Officer 
(Representing County Public Safety) 

Robert Smith, Representative, Pala 
(Alternate) Leia Arviso, Representative, Inaja 
(Representing Southern California Tribal Chairmen’s Association) 

Michial Michalovich, Mission Assurance Manager, MCI West — MCB Camp Pendleton 
(Alternate) Matthew Crews, Force Protection Director, Navy Region SW 
(Representing Department of Defense)