Regional Planning Committee

The Regional Planning Committee oversees the preparation and implementation of the Regional Comprehensive Plan. The components of the plan include transportation, housing, environment, economy, regional infrastructure needs, financing, and land use and design. The Regional Planning Committee receives input from the Sustainable Communities Working Group, Social Equity Working Group, Shoreline Preservation Working Group, and Military Working Group.  Recommendations of the Regional Planning Committee are forwarded to the Board of Directors for action.  

The Regional Planning Committee meetings are generally held at 12:30 p.m. on the first Friday of the month for approximately two hours. 

Staff contact: Stacey Cooper, 619.595.5354,


The Regional Planning Committee is composed of elected officials, SANDAG advisory members, and environmental representatives.

Terra Lawson-Remer, Chair, Supervisor, County of San Diego 
(Alternate) Joel Anderson, Supervisor, County of San Diego 

Ditas Yamane, Vice Chair, Councilmember, City of National City 
(Alternate) Jack Fisher, Councilmember, City of Imperial Beach 
(Representing South County) 

Patricia Dillard, Councilmember, City of La Mesa 
(Alternate) Bill Wells, Mayor, City of El Cajon 
(Representing East County) 

Terry Gaasterland, Councilmember, City of Del Mar 
(Alternate) Joy Lyndes, Deputy Mayor, City of Encinitas 
(Representing North County Coastal) 

Rebecca Jones, Mayor, City of San Marcos 
(Alternate) Ed Musgrove, Councilmember, City of San Marcos
(Representing North County Inland) 

Stephen Whitburn Councilmember
(Alternate) Kent Lee, Councilmember, City of San Diego

Gustavo Dallarda 
(Alternate) Ann Fox/Mario Orso 
Caltrans District 11 

Muska Laiq
(Alternate) Anna Shepherd
Department of Defense 

George Gastil
(Alternate) Marcus Bush
Metropolitan Transit System 

Sharon Jenkins 
(Alternate) Priya Bhat-Patel
North County Transit District 

Angela Elliott-Santos (Manzanita) 
(Alternate) Cody Martinez (Sycuan) 
Southern California Tribal Chairmen’s Association 

Elsa Saxod 
(Alternate) Craig Elitharp 
San Diego County Water Authority 

Danielle Moore, Commissioner 
(Alternate) Sandy Naranjo, Vice Chair
Port of San Diego 

(Alternate) Susan Wynn 
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 

Michelle Lynch 
(Alternate) Kyle Dahl 
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 

(Alternate) David Mayer 
California Department of Fish and Wildlife 

John Donnelly 
(Alternate) Vacant 
Wildlife Conservation Board 

Related Pages