Board of Directors

The Board of Directors serves as the governing body of SANDAG and is made up of elected mayors, councilmembers, and county supervisors that are appointed from each of the region’s 19 local governments. The Board of Directors serves as the forum for bringing together our local governments and public agencies to plan, program, and implement cooperative comprehensive planning across the San Diego region.  

To help SANDAG address key public policy and funding responsibilities, the Board has delegated certain responsibilities to six Policy Advisory Committees that are focused on distinct issue areas. All items delegated to the Policy Advisory Committees are subject to Board ratification.

The Board of Directors meetings are generally held at 10 a.m. every second Friday of the month for approximately two hours and at 9 a.m. every fourth Friday of the month for approximately three hours. Meetings provide the public forum for policy decision-making on significant regional issues such as growth, transportation, environmental management, housing, open space, air quality, energy, fiscal management, economic development, and criminal justice. 

Staff contact: Clerk of the Board,

Membership - As of June 11, 2024

Hon. Nora Vargas

First Vice Chair
Hon. Sean Elo-Rivera

Second Vice Chair
Hon. Lesa Heebner

City of Carlsbad
Melanie Burkholder, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Priya Bhat-Patel, Mayor Pro Tem
(A) Hon. Keith Blackburn, Mayor

City of Chula Vista
Hon. Carolina Chavez, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Alonso Gonzalez, Deputy Mayor
(A) Hon. Jose Preciado, Councilmember

City of Coronado
Hon. John Duncan, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Mike Donovan, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Richard Bailey, Mayor

City of Del Mar
Hon. Terry Gaasterland, Deputy Mayor
(A) Hon. Tracy Martinez, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Dave Druker, Mayor

City of El Cajon
Hon. Bill Wells, Mayor
(A) Hon. Steve Goble, Deputy Mayor

City of Encinitas
Hon. Tony Kranz, Mayor
(A) Hon. Kellie Hinze, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Joy Lyndes, Councilmember

City of Escondido
Hon. Dane White, Mayor
(A) Hon. Michael Morasco, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Joe Garcia, Councilmember

City of Imperial Beach
Hon. Jack Fisher, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Mitch McKay, Mayor Pro Tem
(A) Hon. Matthew Leyba-Gonzalez, Councilmember

City of La Mesa
Hon. Jack Shu, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Patricia Dillard, Councilmember
(A) Vacant

City of Lemon Grove
Hon. Racquel Vasquez, Mayor
(A) Hon. George Gastil, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Alysson Snow, Councilmember

City of National City
Hon. Luz Molina, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Jose Rodriguez, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Ron Morrison, Mayor

City of Oceanside
Hon. Ryan Keim, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Rick Robinson, Councilmember

City of Poway
Hon. Steve Vaus, Mayor
(A) Hon. Caylin Frank, Deputy Mayor
(A) Hon. Brian Pepin, Councilmember

City of San Diego
Hon. Todd Gloria, Mayor
(A) Hon. Raul Campillo, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Joe LaCava, Council President Pro Tem

Hon. Sean Elo-Rivera, Council President
(A) Hon. Vivian Moreno, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Marni Von Wilpert, Councilmember

City of San Marcos
Hon. Rebecca Jones, Mayor
(A) Hon. Ed Musgrove, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Sharon Jenkins, Deputy Mayor

City of Santee
Hon. John Minto, Mayor
(A) Hon. Laura Koval, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Ronn Hall, Councilmember

City of Solana Beach
Hon. Lesa Heebner, Mayor
(A) Hon. David A. Zito, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Jewel Edson, Deputy Mayor

City of Vista
Hon. Katie Melendez, Deputy Mayor
(A) Hon. Dan O’Donnell, Councilmember
(A) Hon. John Franklin, Mayor

County of San Diego
Hon. Nora Vargas, Chair
Hon. Joel Anderson, Supervisor

(A) Hon. Terra Lawson-Remer, Supervisor
(A) Hon. Monica Montgomery Steppe, Supervisor

Imperial County
Jesus Eduardo Escobar, Supervisor 
(A) Vacant

California Department of Transportation (Caltrans)
Tony Tavares, Executive Director
(A) Everett Townsend, Acting District 11 Director 
(A) Roy Abboud, Acting Deputy Director

Metropolitan Transit System
Hon. Matthew Leyba-Gonzalez
(A) Hon. Patricia Dillard
(A) Hon. Ronn Hall

North County Transit District
Hon. Jewel Edson
(A) Hon. Priya Bhat-Patel
(A) Hon. Sharon Jenkins

United States Department of Defense
Dennis Keck, Executive Director, Navy Region Southwest
(A) Anna Shepherd, Navy Region Southwest
(A) Muska Laiq, Navy Region Southwest

Port of San Diego
Dan Malcolm, Commissioner
(A) Job Nelson, Commissioner

San Diego County Water Authority
Mel Katz, Representative
(A) Nick Serrano, Alternate
(A) Consuelo Martinez, Alternate

San Diego County Regional Airport Authority
Gil Cabrera, Chair
(A) James Sly, Board member

Southern California Tribal Chairmen's Association
Hon. Cody Martinez, Chairman, Sycuan Band of the Kumeyaay Nation
Hon. Erica Pinto, Chairwoman, Jamul Indian Village of California

Mexico (Consulate General of Mexico)
Hon. Alicia Kerber-Palma, Cónsul General of Mexico
(A) Hon. Gilberto Luna, Deputy Cónsul General of Mexico

Association of Planning Groups
Hon. Robin Joy Maxson
(A) Hon. Eileen Delaney