Borders Committee

The Borders Committee advises the Board of Directors on major interregional planning activities that impact the borders of the San Diego region. This includes Orange, Riverside, and Imperial Counties; the Republic of Mexico; and neighboring tribal nations. The preparation and implementation of SANDAG Binational, Interregional, and Tribal Liaison Planning programs are included under this purview. Recommendations of the Borders Committee are forwarded to the Board of Directors for action.  

The Borders Committee meetings are generally held at 1 p.m. on the fourth Friday of the month for approximately two hours. 

Staff contact: Clerk of the Board,


The Borders Committee is composed of elected officials that represent the six areas of the region, as well as representatives from border agencies.

Jesus Eduardo Escobar, Chair Supervisor, Imperial County
(Alternate) Luis Plancarte Supervisor, Imperial County 

Carolina Chavez, Vice Chair, Councilmember, City of Chula Vista 
(Alternate) Mitch McKay, Councilmember, City of Imperial Beach
(Representing South County) 

Laura Koval, Councilmember, City of Santee 
(Alternate) Patricia Dillard, Councilmember, City of La Mesa 
(Representing East County) 

Terry Gaasterland, Deputy Mayor, City of Del Mar
(Alternate) Ryan Keim, Deputy Mayor, City of Oceanside
(Representing North County Coastal) 

Dane White, Mayor, City of Escondido
(Alternate) Joe Garcia, Councilmember, City of Escondido
(Representing North County Inland) 

Vivian Moreno, Councilmember, City of San Diego
(Alternate) Sean Elo-Rivera, Council President, City of San Diego

Joel Anderson, Supervisor, County of San Diego
(Alternate) Nora Vargas, Chair, County of San Diego 

Everett Townsend, Caltrans District 11
(Alternate) Roy Abboud, Caltrans District 11 

Carlos González Gutiérrez, Consulate General of Mexico 
(Alternate) Gilberto Luna/Natalia Figueroa, Consulate General of Mexico 
(Representing Mexico) 

(Alternate) Vacant 
(Representing Orange County) 

Crystal Ruiz, City of San Jacinto 
(Alternate) Yxstian Gutierrez, City of Moreno Valley 
(Representing Riverside County COGs) 

Valentine Macedo, Jr., San Diego County Water Authority
Steve Castaneda, San Diego County Water Authority 

Naresh Amatya 
(Alternate) David Salgado 
Southern California Association of Governments 

Raymond Welch (Barona) 
(Alternate) Cody Martinez (Sycuan) 
Southern California Tribal Chairmen’s Association 

Related Pages