Skip navigation
navigation section title graphic for programs
navigation section title graphic for resources
navigation section title graphic for services

navigation section title graphic for newsletter
Subscribe by entering your

Read newsletter


Board of Directors

SANDAG is governed by a Board of Directors composed of mayors, councilmembers, and county supervisors from each of the region's 19 local governments.

SANDAG Board of Directors meeting schedules and agendas are available at Comprehensive information on elected officials, representatives, and government agencies that serve the San Diego region is available at the San Diego County Registrar of Voters.

SANDAG Board of Directors as of September 18, 2015

Hon. Jack Dale

Vice Chair
Hon. Ron Roberts

Executive Director
Gary L. Gallegos

City of Carlsbad
Hon. Matt Hall, Mayor
(A) Hon. Lorraine Wood, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Michael Schumacher, Councilmember

City of Chula Vista
Hon. Mary Salas, Mayor
(A) Hon. Pamela Bensoussan, Deputy Mayor
(A) Hon. John McCann, Councilmember

City of Coronado
Hon. Carrie Downey, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Michael Woiwode, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Bill Sandke, Councilmember

City of Del Mar
Hon. Terry Sinnott, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Dwight Worden, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Al Corti, Mayor

City of El Cajon
Hon. Bill Wells, Mayor
(A) Hon. Tony Ambrose, Councilmember

City of Encinitas
Hon. Lisa Shaffer, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Tony Kranz, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Kristin Gaspar, Mayor

City of Escondido
Hon. Sam Abed, Mayor
(A) Hon. John Masson, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Ed Gallo, Councilmember

City of Imperial Beach
Hon. Robert Patton, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Brian Bilbray, Mayor Pro Tem
(A) Hon. Serge Dedina, Mayor

City of La Mesa
Hon. Kristine Alessio, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Ruth Sterling, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Bill Baber, Vice Mayor

City of Lemon Grove
Hon. Mary Teresa Sessom, Mayor
(A) Hon. Jerry Jones, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Jennifer Mendoza, Councilmember

City of National City
Hon. Ron Morrison, Mayor
(A) Hon. Alejandra Sotelo-Solis, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Mona Rios, Councilmember

City of Oceanside
Hon. Jim Wood, Mayor
(A) Hon. Esther Sanchez, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Chuck Lowery, Deputy Mayor

City of Poway
Hon. Steve Vaus, Mayor
(A) Hon. Jim Cunningham, Councilmember
(A) Hon. John Mullin, Councilmember

City of San Diego
Hon. Kevin Faulconer, Mayor
(A) Hon. Lorie Zapf, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Chris Cate, Councilmember

Hon. Todd Gloria, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Sherri Lightner, Council President
(A) Hon. Myrtle Cole, Councilmember

City of San Marcos
Hon. Chris Orlando, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Jim Desmond, Mayor
(A) Hon. Rebecca Jones, Vice Mayor

City of Santee
Hon. Jack Dale, Councilmember
(A) Hon. John Minto, Vice Mayor
(A) Hon. Rob McNelis, Councilmember

City of Solana Beach
Hon. Lesa Heebner, Mayor
(A) Hon. Mike Nichols, Councilmember
(A) Hon. David A. Zito, Deputy Mayor

City of Vista
Hon. Judy Ritter, Mayor
(A) Hon. John Aguilera, Deputy Mayor
(A) Hon. Amanda Rigby, Councilmember

County of San Diego
Hon. Bill Horn, Chair
(A) Hon. Dianne Jacob, Supervisor

Hon. Ron Roberts, Supervisor
(A) Hon. Dave Roberts, Supervisor
(A) Hon. Greg Cox, Supervisor

California Department of Transportation
(Advisory Member)
Malcolm Dougherty, Director
(A) Laurie Berman, District 11 Director
(A) Bill Figge, District 11 Deputy Director

Metropolitan Transit System
(Advisory Member)
Harry Mathis, Chairman
(A) Hon. Mona Rios

North County Transit District
(Advisory Member)
Hon. Mark Packard, Chair
(A) Hon. Ed Gallo
(A) Hon. Mike Nichols

Imperial County
(Advisory Member)
Hon. John Renison, Supervisor, District 1
(A) Vacant

United States Department of Defense
(Advisory Member)
CAPT John J. Adametz, CEC, USN, Commanding Officer
Naval Facilities Engineering Command Southwest
(A) CAPT Daniel P. Turner, CEC, USN, Executive Officer
Naval Facilities Engineering Command Southwest

San Diego Unified Port District
(Advisory Member)
Hon. Dan Malcolm, Chairman
(A) Hon. Garry Bonelli, Commissioner

San Diego County Water Authority
(Advisory Member)
Mark Muir, Vice Chair
(A) Jim Madaffer, Director
(A) Christy Guerin, Director

Southern California Tribal Chairmen's Association
(Advisory Member)
Hon. Allen Lawson, Chairman, San Pasqual Band of Diegueño Indians
Hon. Robert Smith, Chairman, Pala Band of Mission Indians

Mexico (Consulate General of Mexico)
(Advisory Member)
Hon. Remedios Gómez-Arnau, Cónsul General of Mexico
(A) Hon. Rafael Laveaga, Deputy Cónsul General of Mexico
(A) Vice Consul Ruth Alicia López