

Shoreline Preservation Working Group

MEMBERSHIP

The Shoreline Preservation Working Group (SPWG) advises the Regional Planning Committee on issues related to the implementation of the Shoreline Preservation Strategy, Regional Comprehensive Plan, and Coastal Regional Sediment Management Plan. It has 13 voting members who are elected officials from the coastal and bayfront cities and County of San Diego and representatives from the Port of San Diego and U.S. Navy. Additionally, the SPWG has several non-voting advisory members who are representatives from community groups and organizations, environmental groups, state and federal agencies, and other interested stakeholders.

The SPWG generally meets quarterly at 11:30 a.m. on the first Thursday of the month.

Staff contact: Courtney Becker, (619) 699-6942, courtney.becker@sandag.org

MEMBERS

Carol Seabury

Mayor Pro Tem, City of Imperial Beach

John Spelich

Councilmember, City of Del Mar

Priya Bhat-Patel

Mayor Pro Tem, City of Carlsbad

Michael Inzunza

Councilmember, City of Chula Vista

Amy Steward

Councilmember, City of Coronado

Bruce Ehlers

Mayor, City of Encinitas

Jose Rodriguez

Councilmember, National City

Eric Joyce

Deputy Mayor, City of Oceanside

Jennifer Campbell

Councilmember, City of San Diego

Kristi Becker, Chair

Deputy Mayor, City of Solana Beach

Terra Lawson-Remer

Supervisor, County of San Diego

Dan Malcolm

Commissioner, Port of San Diego

ALTERNATES

Vacant

City of Imperial Beach

Terry Gaasterland

Mayor, City of Del Mar

Tracy Martinez

Councilmember, City of Del Mar

Keith Blackburn

Mayor, City of Carlsbad

Carolina Chavez

Councilmember, City of Chula Vista

Mark Fleming

Councilmember, City of Coronado

Luke Shaffer

Councilmember, City of Encinitas

Marcus Bush

Councilmember, National City

Esther Sanchez

Mayor, City of Oceanside

Joe LaCava

Council President, City of San Diego

David Zito

Councilmember, City of Solana Beach

Vacant

County of San Diego

Eileen Maher

Port of San Diego

Jason Golumbfskie-Jones

U.S. Navy

TECHNICAL ADVISORS

Kanani Leslie

California Coastal Commission

Bryant Chesney

National Marine Fisheries Service

Leslie Hart

State Department of Fish and Wildlife

Darren Smith

State Department of Parks and Recreation

Kenneth Foster

State Lands Commission

Heather Schlosser

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Vacant

State Department of Boating and Waterways

Jessica Curran

U.S. Navy

COMMUNITY ADVISORS

Steve Aceti

California Coastal Coalition

Vacant

California Lobster and Trap Fishermen's Association

Marco Gonzalez

Coastal Environmental Rights Foundation

Reinhard Flick

Scripps Institute of Oceanography

Michael Connolly

Southern California Tribal Chairmen's Association

Mitch Silverstein

Surfrider Foundation

Reece Allen

Caltrans

Vacant

Cross-Border Community Organization

Vacant

Environmental Justice Community Organization