This Month

SANDAG newsletter provides information on key projects
& services

Shortcuts to the 511
Crime in region
continues decline
Del Mar bluffs bolstered
Bike to Work Day is May 18 rule
Freeway Service Patrol
helps keep traffic moving

Progress on SR 52 continues rule
TransNet Independent Taxpayer Oversight
Committee welcomes new members

SANDAG Board Actions available online

  the rEgion

TransNet Independent Taxpayer Oversight Committee
welcomes new members
TransNet Keeps San Diego Moving

Committed to move aggressively on much-needed transportation projects, a panel of local mayors and county supervisors selected three individuals to serve four-year terms on the seven-member Independent Taxpayer Oversight Committee (ITOC) - a group tasked with monitoring and evaluating SANDAG use of the $14 billion TransNet sales tax approved by the voters as Proposition A in November 2004.

Joining ITOC Chair Maryam Babaki, and Ron Gerow, John Meyer, and Jim Ryan as members are:

  • Hamid Bahadori: Bahadori is a registered traffic and civil engineer with 27 years of experience, including right-of-way acquisition and large-scale project design and construction management. He is currently serving as a representative of the Automobile Club of Southern California. He lives in South Orange County and works throughout Southern California. Hamid previously served a 2-year term on ITOC.

  • Valerie Harrison: Harrison is President of Valcorp Business Management and has experience in organizational development, strategic planning, and leadership development. She also serves as an instructor for business students at the community college level. She lives in the La Mesa area.
  • Kevin Cummins: Cummins has 11 years of experience in evaluating project impacts on natural resources. He currently is working at the UCSD School of Medicine and teaches biology at the community college level. He is a resident of Encinitas.

With the passage of the TransNet Extension Ordinance and Expenditure Plan in November 2004, it was mandated in the Ordinance that an ITOC for TransNet be formed to provide an enhanced level of accountability for the expenditure of funds under the Expenditure Plan.

Earlier this year, the ITOC solicited for qualified members of the public to fill open positions made vacant by the expiration of three two-year terms: a licensed architect; civil engineer, or traffic engineer; a chief executive officer or senior-level decision-maker for a major private sector employer; and a biologist or environmental scientist. Applications were due March 23, 2007.

The new ITOC members were selected on April 27, 2007, by the ITOC Selection Committee, which is composed of elected officials from throughout the region. Membership currently includes County Supervisors Pam Slater-Price and Bill Horn, Chula Vista Mayor Cheryl Cox, Escondido Mayor Lori Holt Pfeiler, Carlsbad Mayor Bud Lewis, La Mesa Mayor Art Madrid, and San Diego Mayor Jerry Sanders.

The next ITOC meeting will be held at the Escondido City Hall (210 N. Broadway) in the Mitchell Room on Wednesday, May 16, 2007, starting at 9:30 a.m. Members of the public are welcome to attend. Discussion will focus on the status of the major TransNet-funded corridor projects, including the I-15 Managed Lanes project and the SPRINTER rail project.

For more information or to view the upcoming meeting agenda please visit

Project Manager:
Craig Scott, TransNet Program Manager, (619) 699-1926